6 Comments

Top Ten Ship Names off the top of my head

One of the blogs I subscribe to did a piece on the famous WW2 ship, the Bismarck. My first thought was the Bismarck has to be among the top ten of most recognizable ship names. My mind quickly went to others.  This is what I came up with off the top of my head:

1. Bismarck

2. Titanic

3. Mayflower

4. Queen Mary

5. Santa Maria

6. Hood

7. USS Wisconsin

8. USS Enterprise

9. Lusitania

10. USS Constitution

The trick is to list them off the top of your head and limit the list to ten. What does your list look like?

BB-64, USS Wisconsin

6 comments on “Top Ten Ship Names off the top of my head

  1. Here’s mine:

    1. RMS Titanic
    2. RMS Lusitania
    3. SS United States
    4. RMS Queen Mary 2
    5. RMS Olympic
    6. Bismarck
    7. SS City of Benares
    8. RMS Queen Mary
    9. RMS Mauretania
    10. Queen of the Mississippi

    And my list could go on and on, this one if very Merchant Marine-ish. :)

    • hahahaha
      Interesting how what we’ve read and been exposed to drives the thoughts off the top of our heads. It was difficult for me to stop at ten once I got going. Thanks for your list! I still have not heard back about your relative.

  2. Mine are:

    1. HMS Victory
    2. HMS Bounty
    3. Bismarck
    4. Graf Spee
    5. Titanic
    6. HMS Hood
    7. USS Enterpise
    8. Cutty Sark
    9. HMS Pallas
    10. HMS Belfast

    Sorry mine is very Anglo-centric! But as the song says ‘We did rule the waves for quite a long time :)

    Bruce If that is me you’re waiting for concerning The chap in the Indian service I posted the replies in the about section on my blog.

    • Thanks Nick. Great list. Our background and reading interests probably drive the first ten ships we’d think of. Yes you did rule the waves and the world was a better place for it I think. I’ll go to your blog! Thanks much!

  3. 1. HMS Victory
    2. HMS Hood
    3. Bismarck
    4. Cutty Sark
    5. Titanic
    6. Lusitania
    7. Mayflower
    8. USS Constitution
    9. HMS Ark Royal
    10. HMS Warspite

    I had to wait a few days before posting so that my list wasn’t affected by having just read the other ones.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 646 other followers

