Leave a comment

From Pommern to Milwaukee 1

One of my interests is genealogy and although I’ve looked into it here and there over the last 12 years I am still a beginner.

I started to research my side of the family starting with my great-grandparents because I had a working knowledge of their names. On my dad’s side are the Roeders/Nehls.

Here’s a little of what I’ve found so far.

Pomerania in light blue

This has been challenging and thus far I have not been able to get past 1885, the estimated date of arrival for Emilie Steldt and Frederick Roeder (Roder), arrived 1875 to the US.  According to the 1900 census they were married in 1890.

Circumstantial evidence has led me to conclude they came from Pomerania in Germany although my dad remembered “Prussia.” Since Pomerania was a Prussian province I guess it’s one and the same.

Their arrival dates indicate that they were part of what was called the “third wave” of German immigration to the US.

Part of the problem in tracing my dad’s family is the fact that both of his grand-parents had died seven years before he was born. Great-grandfather Frederick died in 1919 (b. 1866) and great-grandmother Emilie died in (b. 1875) 1921.

Milwaukee_1900. Mt great-grandfather and grand-mother appear on the 1900 Milwaukee census. My grand-mother did not speak English according to a later census.

The Roeders and the Steldts settled in the City of Milwaukee where at the turn of the century there was a large German population. According to the 1900 census great-grandfather Frederick was a marble-cutter by trade. I am not certain at this point but I think stone cutters were associated with stone masons.

I found this interesting picture of some German/Austrian stone cutters taking a break for a picture.

I also have evidence that great-grandmother Emilie’s family were stone cutters as well. I’m speculating at this time that my great-grandfather Frederick got into the stone cutting trade via the family connections through his wife.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 644 other followers

